Media Reviews

Take a moment to read about what the media has to say about Blair Hill Inn.

2013 Press...

Blair Hill Inn, the Hotel del Coronado and The Blantyre Estate are among five favorite inns & hotels named in a special 2013 issue of Victoria Magazine


The press seems to love Blair Hill Inn and the great articles and reviews continue year after year.


June/July 2012, North Country Magazine


June/July 2012 - Private Clubs Magazine

We are always surprised and honored when prestigious magazines such as Victoria Magazine, Men's Journal, Ladies Home Journal, Travel + Leisure magazine, Outside Magazine, etc. contact us to say that they are writing a feature article about Blair Hill Inn. Such significant endorsements seem to keep finding us - and we are continually amazed and thankful. This time the honor comes from Private Clubs magazine. They contacted us several months ago to prepare a full, color spread including photos about Blair Hill to appear int their summer, June/July 2012 issue. Once we have the magazine article in hand we will post a link as well as what was written about the special nature of a stay at Blair Hill Inn.


April 29, 2012 - Portland Press Herald

Last fall we were thrilled to be critiqued by Nancy Heiser, Food Editor with the Portland Press Herald. She gave Blair Hill Inn 4 & 1/2 stars out of 5, which apparently is extremely rare. Now again, in this Sunday's issue Blair Hill Inn is named again for our dining experience. To be regarded by the top ciritc of our state as one of the few most desirable dining locations outside of Portland is truly an honor.

"One of the greatest pleasures of this job is visiting a restaurant I don't know and discovering dining excellence in reaches of Maine far outside Portland. It's like opening a gift, one that's a wonderful surprise. I've had that satisfaction just a few times. Blair Hill Inn in Greenville, is one of them."

 


May/June, 2012 AAA Northern New England magazine

It is an honor to be rated 4 diamonds by AAA but to be featured in their May/June magazine issue is even more so!

"The restaurant at Blair Hill Inn in Greenville is top shelf. Enjoy views of Moosehead Lake (a sunset drink is a must)."


Men's Journal, June 2011

Blair Hill Inn is recognized as a recommended place to stay and dine in Moosehead Lake in the current, June 2011 issue of Men's Journal! 


2011, AAA awards Blair Hill Inn with a prestigious 4 diamond rating

Finally, after 14 years as innkeepers, we applied for an AAA inspection rating.  Our hesitation for doing so had centered around the AAA requirement of dead bolt locks on guest room doors.  However, we kept hearing from our guests and diners that they use this rating as one tool to help weed through the many lodging choices available to them.  We also found locks that met the AAA requirement but appear as a tasteful accent on our beautiful guest room doors and don't liken us to a motel or Fort Knox. 

We applied, the innspector made a visit and on his departure he announced that he would be submitting Blair Hill inn with a resounding recommendation for a four diamond rating.  This rating is now official for the year 2011.  We hope it helps as our future guests make their travel decisions. 


2011, New England Travel & Life

Recently, we learned that Blair Hill Inn is to be featured in an editorial in New England Travel & Life Magazine.  


2011, Portland Magazine

In a feature story entitled "Tales of a Grand Hotel" Blair Hill Inn is presented with color photos as one of Maine's premiere hotels!   


Trip Advisor

Blair Hill Inn in Greenville, ME has a perfect customer rating and rates #1 on the 'popularity index' of the Moosehead Lake region on TripAdvisor.


2010 Travel + Leisure Magazine

"Overnight at the luxurious Blair Hill Inn; in the morning, drive beneath spectacular tree canopies on unpaved logging roads."  Travel + Leisure, September 2010


2010, Victoria Magazine features Blair Hill Inn in a mulit-page editorial


2010, Yankee Magazine features Blair Hill Inn as one of New England's top restaurants for 'Dinner with a View'


2010, Press Release from Select Registry highlights Blair Hill Inn

Select Registry is pleased to present five spectacular and unique wedding venues from among their over 400 members.  A press release highlighting these five special inss went out across the country yesterday and should begin to appear in national and regional magazines over the next several months.  Blair Hill Inn is honored to be one of the 5 wedding destinations selected for this recognition. 


2009, Bangor Metro Magazine names Blair Hill Inn a 'Best Destination Restaurant'

"While every morsel they serve is delicious, right down to the homemade sorbet at meal's end, the true dessert is the view.  Overlooking Moosehead Lake, the inn has views stretching from Mt. Washington to Canada, and the sunsets have been known to inspire standing ovations."  Bangor Metro Business & Lifestyle magazine, August 2009. 


2009, Blair Hill named as one of Maine's most successful businesses across all industry segments!

We have been recognized in many different travel publications as one of Maine's best lodging establishments.  However, in a special 2009 publication of   'Maine Biz', the business magazine of Maine, identified 13, of over 500 businesses, as the most successful businesses in Maine across all industries.  Along with companies such as FairPoint Communications, Cross Insurance and Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare, Blair Hill Inn was selected for our story of entrepreneurship, ingenuity and business success. 


2009 New England Travel magazine selects Blair Hill Inn for the 6th year to be named to their annual 'Best of New England' list.

In what is called "Your Everything Guide to Perfect Getaways", the editor's of Boston Magazine's annual 'Travel New England' issue, not only lists Blair Hill Inn  but honors the inn with their coveted *STAR* appointment to highlight them as among the best of the best!  


2009, Yankee Magazine's Annual 'Best of New England' Travel Guide names Blair Hill Inn as "The Best Northwood's Oasis!

"The views over Moosehead Lake are spectacular from Blair Hill Inn, Dan and Ruth McLaughlin's oasis of elegance in the rugged wilds of Northern Maine.  Gourmet breakfasts, five course dinners on summer weekends, and sunset cocktails on the porch provide respite from the area activities."


2009, the editors of BedandBreakfast.com name Blair Hill Inn as one of their Top 12 'Most Romantic Inns of North America'

When National Geopgraphic Magazine asked BedandBreakfast.com editors to give them a list of their top 12 most romantic inns of North America, Blair Hill Inn was ever so grateful to be one of those inns selected by BedandBreakfast.com as the most romantic in the country! 


2008, Travel + Leisure Magazine states Blair Hill Inn is "arguably the finest inn of all inland Maine".

Blair Hill Inn is named as one of Maine's top luxury, designer, boutique hotels.  "Arguably the finest inn in all of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state), the Blair Hill Inn is pure North Woods fantasy."

 


2008 Down East Magazine features Blair Hill Inn

Blair Hill Inn is selected as one of 4 perfect Maine locations for a "Fabulous Fall Weekend".
"The Blair Hill Inn offers romance and comfort enough that guests by have trouble getting out the door.  Sitting high on its eponymous hill, the inn features a westerly panorama of Moosehead Lake."                  


2008 National Geographic Adventure Magazine features Blair Hill Inn

In a feature article about Moosehead Lake as the idyllic summer retreat, Blair Hill Inn is cited as the luxury respite of choice!  


2008 Yankee Magazine presents Blair Hill Inn as one of the Top 5 Inns of New England

Blair Hill Inn receives one of its most meaningful honors in a feature article written by famous travel author Christina Tree.  When posed the question by Yankee editors "If you were only able to stay at 5 inns in all of New England, which would they be?", Blair Hill Inn, Chris states, came immediately to the top of the list! 


2008 Maine Food & Lifestyle Magazine editiorial feature on Blair Hill Inn's dining experience

In a feature article about Blair Hill Inn, the inn's dining room is lauded as a premiere dining destination of inland Maine.


2008 New England Travel & Life Magazine

Blair Hill Inn is honored in the 'Best of New England" feature.  


2008 Miami Herald

"Blair Hill Inn's got the right attitude.  Spaces are classically beautiful, traditional, romantic and restful, the special touches are thoughtful and dinner brings its own unexpected moment of gourmet awe." 


2007 American Historic Inns

Blair Hill Inn attains the prestigious award of 'Top Ten Most Romantic Inns of North America'.   


2007 GQ Magazine selects Blair Hill Inn as one of their '10 Perfect Escapes'

This national magazine featured Blair Hill Inn as one of '10 Perfect Escapes'


February 2007 'Bill Green's Maine'

Bill Green, a Maine icon who hosts a weekly televison show entitled 'Bill Green's Maine', featured Blair Hill Inn's lodging and dining showcasing the inn as one of Maine's finest romantic getaways.


May 2007 Real Maine Weddings Magazine

Complete with full color photographs, this feature article presented Blair Hill Inn as one of the most scenic wedding destinations of Maine.


2006, 2005, 2003, 2000 Yankee Magazine

In each of these years Blair Hill Inn received Yankee Magazine's prestigious  Editor's Choice Award.  


September 2006 Yankee Magazine

recommends Blair Hill Inn for lodging and dining.  “Dinner at Blair Hill Inn, it’ the perfect place to linger … Spectacular sunsets paint pale colors across an endless sky.”


2005 and prior years included

Lexus Magazine (2005), Ladies Home Journal (2005), Portland Magazine (2005), The Boston Globe (2002), Travel & Leisure (2001), Outside Traveler (2005), New England Travel & Life names Blair Hill Inn as one of New England's ''Top 15' inns, State of Maine awards Blair Hill Inn one of its five select Editor's Picks for the best Maine has to offer, Conde Nast Magazine, so forth and so on.   

 


July 2003 Down East Magazine

"The Best Restaurants in Maine"
As if our feature article in the April, 2003 issue were not enough, the July issue presented a special section entitled "The Best" of Maine. Within it, was a review of the 'Best Restaurants' and listed among the top 10 was Blair Hill Inn! To be placed in the company of White Barn Inn, Arrows and Primos was a real honor for which we are so grateful!


Blair Hill Inn receives coveted travel stars

Both independent travel guides, Fodors and Frommers have given Blair Hill Inn their highest star rating of any inland Maine lodging & dining establishment for nearly 10 consecutive years!


Featured on two national television shows

including primetime and HGTV


Dear Ruth and Dan,
We have lived in Maine for years and this was by far the most beautiful spot we have found. If we only had a nickel for every 'ooh' and 'aah' we expressed as we explored your beautiful estate... Thank you for all the little touches that separate your inn from the rest. We will be back, you can count on it!

Nate and Jennie Raby

Forbes Travel Guide Recommended Hotel